top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Vizza

One-Size Fits...Who?

Why brands like Brandy-Melville and other "one-size fits most/all" stores

need a wake up call.



As a 19 year old, I am in the age-bracket that is still attracted to and buys from more affordable, American clothing brands. I'm always looking for a deal, and I have often sacrificed quality and fit for a great price (although I'm trying my best to save up to thrift and buy from better quality and more sustainable brands). However, I have NEVER and will NEVER give my money to brands that are founded on the "one-size" or "one-size-fits-most" clothing technique. I don't know about you, but any time a friend of mine has had me try on a one-size garment, it never fits right, and I immediately spiral down a path of insecurity and self doubt, thinking my body isn't normal and unfavorable. I'm already very insecure about my body and weight, and trying on 'trendy' clothes like that never helps. Incredibly popular youth/teen clothing brands such as Brandy Melville have come under fire, and rightfully so, for continuing to sell their garments in a one-size, or a very limited size-range model. Not only is only one size available, but that one size tends to be on the smaller side (smaller than a size 6, or XS-M), and made of unsustainable, cheap, and stiff fabrics.





It doesn't make any sense to me, that in 2020, a brand that wants to reach as many customers as possible would still have such a cheap, outdated selling model. These brands are also targeting teens, who are already made insecure by the unattainably thin models shown to them by social media. For so long I assumed that the average waist size of a girl was way smaller than it is in reality. A fairly recent study from the CDC shows that the average waist size of women 13-19 years of age is about 32.6 inches, which in the US is a size 10-12. As someone who constantly fluctuates between size 8-12, it frustrates me that sizes 2-4 is made to look like the healthy norm, which is solidified by one-size brands. Only catering to a slimmer body drastically decreases the demographic that can shop there.


There is no universal body type. There is no default size. There is no excuse for a brand to disguise their limiting of size with an "inclusive" point of view. It is the opposite of that. The fact of the matter is that these brands won't and shouldn't survive in the way that they are currently, as long as we keep them accountable and not fund such an outdated approach to fashion.


Sincerely,

Olivia Lorraine





10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page